Writing Tips: Get to the Point

The Writer's Chronicle

One of my hopes for this blog was to provide my readers with tips on how to become a stronger writer. Well, I’m going to make good on that promise and start posting some writing tips I’ve collected over the years from teachers, peers, personal experiences, and from the fabulous tool known as the Internet.

Writing Tip 1: Get to the Point!

Readers will quickly lose interest in your writing if you don’t get to the meat of the message fast. I’ve been guilty of rambling and writing run-on sentences a handful of times (more like 10 handfuls). Heck, I’m probably rambling now. Believe me, it’s much better to start with the point you want to make rather than building it up. Very rarely does it work out the other way.

Not only will removing extra words and starting with the main point of a story maintain your reader’s interest, but it will also make…

View original post 145 more words

Leave a Reply

